The Muppets

The Muppets (2011)
Written by Jason Segel & Nicholas Stoller, based on characters created by Jim Henson; directed by James Bobin

Guest review by Tommy “Slug” Togath, age 13

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

The Muppets haven’t been part of my life, so I really didn’t know what to expect from this movie. I’ve seen Kermit the Frog and Miss Piggy and some of the others on commercials, but I’ve never seen The Muppet Show or any of their previous movies. I’m not a fan of movie musicals, either.

But The Muppet Movie surprisingly entertained me. The jokes were kind of corny, and I know I missed some of the references, but the movie was basically an extended sitcom starring a bunch of sock puppets. The musical numbers were more parodies than true songs, and so were mostly funny. I liked that the moviemakers didn’t take themselves too seriously; after all, this is a movie that starts out claiming that Gary (Jason Segel) is the brother of Walter, a Muppet.

The plot was almost beside the point. Bad guy Tex Richman (Chris Cooper) was going to take over the old Muppet Theater so he could drill for oil unless Kermit could reunite his Muppet friends for a benefit show to raise $10 million. One of the funnier moments came when Gary, Kermit, and some of the others drove across the Atlantic Ocean “by map” to find Miss Piggy.

There were a lot of small parts by famous TV and movie stars, which I guess is standard for a Muppet movie. They kept talking about an old show they did with Steve Martin, but surprisingly, he never appeared in this movie.

I thought the ending was kind of heavy-handed with a “lesson” for Gary and Kermit to tell their girlfriends they loved them. Do real people not know this?

Otherwise, I thought The Muppet Movie was mostly funny. I wouldn’t go out of my way to see it again, but would watch it on TV if there were nothing else on.

Leave a Reply

